For immediate release - 30 March 2016


The biggest ever Australian Sports Racer Series field will hit Sandown Raceway this weekend for the first round of its 2016 season.

With 19 entrants, the grid this weekend is the largest by far since the category was established in 2010, and comes as it prepares to host not one but four championships amidst its ranks – outright, SR2 (division two), F1000 and Radical.

While heralding the entry list as a great step forward for the series, category manager Liam Curkpatrick said there was more growth to come.

“To have 19 entrants for our first round of 2016 is very exciting, and is a sign of things to come for this category,” said Curkpatrick.

“This year we have four championships up for grabs – outright and division two (SR2), and F1000 and Radicals.

“We also are expecting a new model West car in the future, with West Race Cars Australia telling us they plan to bring in at least six of these by the end of the year.

“On top of that we have a number of contenders signed up for the upcoming rounds of 2016 who just couldn’t come to Sandown due to conflicting commitments, so we believe the entry list will stay at high levels throughout the year and even continue to expand.

“It really is an exciting time for the Australian Sports Racer Series.”

The championship podium-getters for 2015 will all be back on-track this year, led by defending outright champion Mark Laucke and SR2/F1000 champion Adam Cranston.

While he may hold the F1000 title currently, this year Cranston will be moving to a new model West once it becomes available, and so for round one will take the wheel of the #56 West usually piloted by Aaron Steer, with Steer to take the wheel of his steed from last year.

Steer will be one of four F1000 racers on-track at Sandown, joined by Joshua Townsend, Terry Peovitis and Adam’s brother Josh Cranston.

Also making a popular comeback will be 2014 championship runner-up Roger I’Anson, who will be sure to add to the battle for outright glory from the get-go; and SR2 runner-up Jason Makris, who will be joined in the hunt for the SR2 title by Mark Short, Michael Whiting, Jonathon Stoeckel, John-Paul Drake and Gerrit Ruff.

With 2016 hosting a Radical title for the first time, Sandown will see no less than six Radical racers on-track – with regular Phil Hughes to be joined by David Crampton, Rob Knight, Peter Johnston, John Morriss and Chris Sutton.

The Australian Sports Racer Series is an exciting national motorsport series providing something different amongst Australia’s crowded motorsport landscape. Launched in 2010, the Series joined the popular Shannons Australian Motor Racing Nationals in 2014, successfully launching the Series onto the national stage.

With spiritual links to the hugely popular sports car racing scene of the 70s and 80s, these Le Mans prototype style sports cars offer scintillating performance, amazing dynamics and spectacularly close racing.

Designed to maximise aerodynamic performance while weighing just 400kgs, these racers are powered by high-tech production-based motorcycle engines which rev to 13,200 rpm. Capable of punching out lap times equal to the mighty V8 Supercars at many circuits around Australia, these rockets are sure to grab your attention, whether you are behind the wheel, or in the grandstand.

In 2015 the Australian Sports Racer Series employed a new championship structure, which will see the introduction of divisional racing for the category - allowing more of the field to compete for race day honours whilst also still being in the running for the ‘outright’ SR1 Championship.

All drivers will be seeded according to their performances at previous national rounds and/or their domestic meetings, while racers for individual events will be seeded on their merits. SR2 points will be awarded as per the 2015 Series Sporting Regulations, and SR2 drivers who qualify more than twice in the top three or finish a race more than twice in the top three during a season will be reclassified to be eligible only for the SR1 championship.

For more information on the Australian Sports Racer Series, go to

·         Round One - Sandown Raceway, April 1-3
·         Round Two - Winton Raceway, June 10-12
·         Round Three - Queensland Raceway, July 29-31
·         Round Four - Phillip Island, September 9-11
·         Round Five - Sydney Motorsport Park, November 11-13